The X-Files Returns

x-files

I realize that this is very old news but I wanted to write a little about the new X-Files series that will be airing in just a couple of months. This past March, Fox announced that The X-Files would be returning for a 6-episode ‘event’ series that would continue the story and include the main cast. David Duchovny and Gillian Anderson would be reprising their roles as Mulder and Scully; the Lone Gunman would be back as well as the Smoking Man; and Mitch Pillegi would return as Walter Skinner. Big-time X-Files fan and comedian Kumail Nanjiani will also be guest-starring in one of the episodes. Overall, they managed to really get the band back together. With the exception of a film in 2008, there hasn’t been a new X-Files story since 2002.

I’ve been watching the X-Files since about 1995-1996 and stayed with it fairly consistently until the 8th season. I never fully watched the final year of the show but I did tune into the finale and subsequently realized that I had missed a lot. Since earlier this summer I’ve been slowly re-watching the series and listening to Kumail Nanjiani’s wonderful podcast about the X-Files and found myself revisiting some stories that I only vaguely remembered from my childhood. The show had some really excellent stretches of episodes and some terrifying scenes that have stayed with me since I was a kid. I am really looking forward to what Chris Carter has cooked up for this new series!

The X-Files returns on Sunday, January 24th for a two-night premiere continuing on the 25th. New episodes will then air every Monday night at 8 PM.

Leave a Reply

