The Ancient Magus’ Bride Anime Project Announced

tumblr_o3sz5v6NBe1sqqtwzo1_1280

I’ve been pretty bad about keeping up with the news here on Teatime so I’ll be posting some ‘catch-up’ articles over the next week or so. I guess the webcomic and the podcast keep me pretty busy.

So, let’s talk for a minute about Kore Yamazaki’s comic series ‘The Ancient Magus’ Bride’. The art is what first pulled me into reading the series and since I found out about it just a few months before Seven Seas Entertainment began publishing the series here in the US, I picked up the first book as soon as it was out. The story is quite charming and I’ve really enjoyed reading the first three books. The fifth volume was just recently released in Japan and with the release came the news that the series would be getting an anime adaptation.

Wit Studio (Attack on Titan) will be animating a three-episode OAD series based on a original story by Yamazaki. One episode will come with each of the future 6th, 7th, and 8th volumes of the series in Japan. The first part will be released on September 10, 2016. I am not caught up with the current Japanese chapters so I’m not sure if the OAD series will be adapting a story from the manga or if it will be an entirely new story written by Yamazaki herself. There is also currently no plan for it to be released internationally.

To announce the new anime project in style, Wit Studio also released a ‘grand PV’ for the series which animates some key moments from the story so far. The animation looks really nice and I am really looking forward to seeing how the three-episode OAD project turns out.

 

Sources: The Ancient Magus’ Bride Official Site, Crunchyroll.

Leave a Reply

